Residency, Driver's Licenses and Voting in Florida

To become an official Florida resident, file a declaration of domicile. The document states that you reside at a certain address. In Charlotte County, file at the Clerk Of The Circuit Court. In Sarasota County, file at the Property Appraiser's Office:

Charlotte County Clerk Sarasota County Appraiser
Justice Center
350 E. Marion Ave.
P.O. Box 511687
Punta Gorda, FL 33951-1687
(941) 637-2199
County Seat:
2001 Adams Lane, Sarasota, FL 34237
Venice Annex:
South County Administration Building
4000 S. Tamiami Trail, Venice, FL 34293
(941) 861-8200

Vehicle Registration
New residents must register their vehicles in Florida within 10 days of gaining employment or enrolling children in school. To register a vehicle, be prepared to provide the County Tax Collector's office with your current driver's license, proof of Florida auto insurance, prior registration certificate and ownership title. The vehicle identification number will be verified, and you will need to apply for a Florida license plate. The fee depends on the vehicle's weight. Newcomers also must apply for a Florida Title Certificate. If there is a lien on the vehicle; you should bring your payment book to the Tax Collector's office.

Charlotte County Sarasota County
Charlotte County Annex
6868 San Casa Drive
Englewood, FL 34223
941-474-7775
www.charlottecountyfl.com
Sarasota South County Annex
4000 S. Tamiami Trail
Venice, FL 34293
(941) 497-7394
www.co.sarasota.fl.us

Drivers Licenses
Florida law requires that new state residents apply for a Florida driver's license within 30 days. But first, register your car as noted above.

The Department of Motor Vehicles will need to see proof of your Florida vehicle registration, your out-of-state driver's license and your social security card. If you own a Florida -registered vehicle, bring the registration as well. If your out-of-state license is valid, you need only take a vision test. A written exam and driver's test is required if your license is invalid or if you are applying for your first license. The written exam is based on the Florida Driver's Handbook and the driver must supply the vehicle for the test. A license is valid for six years. More online at State of Florida,New Driver's Licence webpage.

Charlotte County Sarasota County
Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles
4300 Kings Highway
Port Charlotte, FL
941-255-7408
Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles
1212 Jacaranda Boulevard
Venice, FL
941-483-5995

Registering to Vote
To vote, you must register in your county of residence. You are eligible to vote if you are a U.S. citizen, county resident and at least 18 years old by the next election. To register, fill out a form and swear an oath that you live in the county. Your voter registration card will be mailed to you before the next election. You can register at any HSMV Office, or online at the voter registration website: http://election.dos.state.fl.us/regtovote/regform.shtml

Charlotte County Sarasota County
Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles
4300 Kings Highway
Port Charlotte, FL
941-255-7408
Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles
1212 Jacaranda Boulevard
Venice, FL
941-483-5995

Back to Article Index


Find Englewood Real Estate | Hot Real Estate Tips | Englewood Florida Maps & Info | Other Sites